Conference Staff and Contact Information

Kirsten Kozolanka, PhD

Conference Chair

kirsten.kozolanka@carleton.ca

Kirsten is an associate professor in the School of Journalism and Communication at Carleton University. She is the author of The Power of Persuasion, editor of Publicity and the Canadian State, and co-editor of Alternative Media in Canada.

 

Cathy Edwards

Conference Co-ordinator

cathy@ComMediaConverge.ca

Cathy is the Executive Director of the Canadian Association for Community Television Users and Stations (CACTUS)

 

Michael Lithgow, MA, PhD

Policy Development Co-ordinator

michael@ComMediaConverge.ca

Michael is a lecturer at Carleton University and at the Global Center for Advanced Studies. His research focuses on the strategies and tactics of citizen communication in political contexts.

 

Isabel Diaz

Logistics Co-ordinator

 

Susan Millar

Registration Co-ordinator

susan@ComMediaConverge.ca

Susan has been very involved with community television in New Westminster, BC - NewWest.TV. She has had an extensive career as creative producer- writer for television documentary-educational series.

 

Deanne Pittman

Media Festival and Technology Fair

deanne@ComMediaConverge.ca

Deanne is a master of journalism student at Carleton University with an interest in alternative and community media, and aspires to explore social justice issues as a documentary filmmaker.

 

Jessica Wind

Media Outreach and Publications

jess@ComMediaConverge.ca

Jess is a masters student in Communication at Carleton University with a focus on popular media narratives and risk communication. She also works as a freelance writer and editor.

 

Michelle Bartleman

Webmaster

michelle@ComMediaConverge.ca

Michelle is a freelance web and graphic designer, and a master of journalism student at Carleton University.